Robo-call count

Did you know there’s a Democratic primary tomorrow?

Did you know there’s a choice in the state Senate race between candidates Michael Moore of Millbury and Doug Belanger of Leicester?

Did you know the Massachusetts Teachers Association supports Belanger, while educator Mike Grew (spelling questionable) of Grafton supports Moore?

I do. Know why? MY PHONE WILL NOT STOP RINGING.

Robo-call count stands at two each as of 2:44 p.m.

I’m thisclose to voting for the person who calls my house the least.

Edit: My inbox is full of people telling me it’s Ken Grew, a former selectman and superintendent. It was a monotone, in any case, and I clearly could not get the name right, nevermind the message! Two more calls, one from each, were in my voice mail just now when I came home.

9 thoughts on “Robo-call count

  1. I’ve gotten two robo-calls from the Belanger campaign and none from Moore. Could be that Moore’s campaign just put me on the do not call list. Same with literature. I’ve gotten Belanger campaign literature, but none from Moore. I feel left out.

    I do hate the rob-calls, the problem from a campaign point of view is that they’re cheap and they are effective at getting a name out. A volunteer making phone calls can make about twelve to twenty an hour. You need a volunteer time to meet what a rob-dialer can meet.

    Now the real question is, while you were writing this did you think of the Simpson’s episode where Homer buys a rob0-dialer and asks everyone in Springfield to send him a dollar? Obviously I did.

  2. Sigh. I knew without even checking that it’s the same episode where Lisa dates Nelson. HA-ha!

    Marge: But you’re going to annoy thousands of people just to make a few measly dollars. It’s nothing but panhandling.
    Homer: Tele-panhandling.

  3. If you guys wait around the big blue bus from the worc.county jail OOPS I mean Mikes\Moores bus will pick you up and bring you to vote according to Mike on the Peterblute show today thats not the jails bus some unknown person donated it to me and gave us there repair plate to use and becuse its unknownhe couldnt declare it on his finacereport

  4. It is too bad that politicians continue to exempt themselves from Do Not Call law.

    StopPoliticalCalls.org is fighting for the privacy of the American voter.

    1 – Creating a Political Do Not Call Registry
    2 – Testifying in the US Senate about robo calls (Sen. Feinstein’s Robocall Privacy Act)
    3 – Forcing states to enforce existing robo call laws (CA, MN, NJ, etc..)
    4 – Getting politicians to take a do not robo call pledge (7 have)

    As I testified at the US. Senate these robo calls are an epidemic and this election cycle “phone spam” and are invading the privacy of All American Voters.

    Our members are taking a stand and saying enough is enough at the National Political Do Not Contact Registry at StopPoliticalCalls.org.

    Here is a quote from a member recently:

    “I’m a shift worker, working variable shifts. I depend on my sleep to be able to do my job safely and efficiently. I’m a locomotive engineer. Imagine the disaster were I to fall asleep, operating a freight train carrying hazardous materials in your neighborhood, due to fatigue from being awoken in my middle of the night on a continuous basis during election season. Please stop..”

    Learn more.

    Shaun Dakin
    CEO
    http://www.stoppoliticalcalls.org
    A non-profit fighting for the privacy of the American voter

  5. It is clear that the recent ploys concocted or supported by McCain/Palin to discredit Senator Obama have been soundly invalidated and met with public criticism. And just when you think McCain et al have reached an all time low they come up with the deplorable, slanderous robo-calls. This is a true reflection of the lack of integrity of McCain, a person who claims to represent the Joe the Plummers and mainstream Americans. As we have discovered, Joe is really an illusion or alter ego created by McCain to distract America from the real issues. McCain claims Obama is a terrorists yet his behavior and agenda are more becoming of true terrorism and hatred, in striking contrast to Obama and his agenda. In future presidential races, the code of conduct for candidates has got to be changed to protect the country against persons like McCain. Sorry McCain, America doesn’t need “smoke and mirrors,” we need candidates who are sincere and qualified to address the issues impacting this country and the world. If you really cherish this country, admit defeat and throw in the towel. I would like to express my support for any action or cause that protects this country from the slanderous, racists, fraudulent, and counterproductive schemes such as robo-calls.

  6. Mr. Coleman…nice tie in there with national politics and a Grafton blog.

    I actually would like a couple robo-calls for the NATIONAL political events unfolding across the country, or at least the chance to see some real live “slanderous” and “fradulent” TV commercials. It seems to me that every election I have a strong pang of saddness when I realize we are sooooo not a battleground. Those guys are having all the fun.

  7. Eh, decided to allow it because I really haven’t talked about national politics. Not that I plan to, unless the candidates decide to visit Grafton (wouldn’t THAT be fun? Photo op in the gazebo!).

  8. I can see it now… a Sarah Palin rally with a frenzied crowd of Graftonites on the common, and while cameras are rolling, Jenn the Blogger asks thoughtfully…”enter thoughtful question here” and all of a sudden, Jenn the Blogger becomes the new Joe the Plumber.

  9. I’m answering the door on Halloween dressed as Sarah Palin. I’m basically adding glasses and a hair flip and taking away the bottle of rubbing alcohol from my Kitty Dukakis outfit from 1990 (red dress, political button).

    I actually liked Kitty, though — we had a great interview a few years back about her electroshock therapy.

Leave a Reply

