Old Farnumsville Cemetery: Old soldiers, older stones

I’ve been spending a lot of time on my Mondays off lately in cemeteries. Don’t worry: I haven’t become a vampire slayer.

Although I do have to warn you: Old Farnumsville Cemetery is crawling with bloodsuckers. The tiny cemetery, the third oldest in Grafton, is bordered by Rte. 122 and a swamp. I was totally swarmed by all kinds of buzzing, biting, flying creatures before I finally fled in defeat to the minivan to scratch my bug bites.

Now here’s the great thing about doing a blog: John LaPoint very helpfully emailed me some information about the Indian Burial Ground I blogged about last week. I mentioned that I had also shot Farnumsville that same day and was researching all the town cemeteries.

He promptly emailed me a walking tour brochure he had prepared previously that had a little bit of the cemetery’s history AND hooked me up with a Yahoo group on Grafton history.

I absolutely love when people try to make my life easier.

According to John’s info, the cemetery is on 1.5 acres and, as I said before, is generally believed to be the third oldest of the eight cemeteries in Grafton. This stone marks the grave of an American Revolutionary War veteran.

The oldest noted burial in the cemetery is a slate marker dated 1812. You’ll note here that the stone next to it is actually almost buried itself — I wasn’t quite sure if it had fallen over or if it was intentional.

Old Farnumsville Cemetery was considered the principal burying ground for the southeastern section of Grafton during much of the 1800’s until the larger Fairview Cemetery near the Grafton /Northbridge town Line was built.

Farnumsville Cemetery is believed to have reached its capacity around 1890. Graves of six United States veterans, one from the American Revolutionary War, and five Union Soldiers from the American Civil War, are buried here among the estimated 200 burial marker stones.

It’s not the easiest place to visit but it was a fascinating little place.

Just don’t forget the bug spray.

4 thoughts on “Old Farnumsville Cemetery: Old soldiers, older stones

  1. Just today on my way to work I spent a few seconds looking at a very small, old headstone at the lower end of the cemetery across from the highschool entrance. It occured to me that I’d like to try and find the burial spots for the family that built our house in the 1830’s (Orlando Whitney and wife) I realize this may sound creepy, but I’m a hack geneologist. Plus, it’s the best time of year to go plodding through gravestones.

  2. While you’re on your old cemetery kick, I figured I’d see if you knew about this gem. I discovered it purely by accident last fall. It’s very hard to find late Spring and all Summer, but after Pine St. turns into Centech Blvd. by the Grafton Commuter Rail Stop, about 1/4ish mile past Green St., there is a small Civil War cemetery in the woods between the 2 roads. There’s no real access point, you just kinda walk into the woods. There’s also a big field stone tower, which I believe has a little plaque stating it was a look out tower during the Civil War. I happened to be cutting over to Route 20 one day, and noticed the tower in the woods, and decided to check it out. Neat place.

  3. I didn’t but coool. I’m totally going to check that one out too.. There’s also a cemetery at the old state hospital that I have to track down.

    Also, right now I’m cursing my video Mac for making my blog look all wonky and taking me completely retype commenting on MY OWN BLOG.

Leave a Reply

