11 thoughts on “Anyone looking for a writer?

  1. I’m so sorry about your job, Jenn!! All I can say is that I can relate because this year has been the worst year ever for me as far as employment goes. These times are scarey, and it’s all due to greed, greed, greed! Hopefully we can all pull together and help each other until this crisis is over!

  2. Jenn –

    Cut it out. I’m so sorry. I hope you are able to land a new position. Your blog is great. Definitely consider social networking resources (LinkedIn, Twitter, etc.) to connect with prospective employers. There are a lot of marketing communictions/journalists/writers on Twitter – with a good representation of Central Mass.-based contacts.

    2008 has been the year of one bad story after another. But I must believe that something good is on the other side for us.

    Hang in there!

  3. Sigh. Yes, layoffs at the Daily News, MetroWest and Milford today. Sad thing was, I saw it coming… and still rushed to finish my layouts for the special section. How sick is that?

    I guess I’m going to have to do Linked In now!

  4. I was thinking about Doonesbury all the way home and chuckling darkly to myself.

    I’m now in the process of copying Working… With Kids before it disappears off the sites. I’m already locked out of it.

  5. Jenn, bad things happen to good writers – I’m sorry this is happening. Don’t discount the recommendation to professionally blog – maybe a formal affiliation with the G’News is in your future…who knows – it looks like a full moon tonight, so anything is possible. Keep the faith – this too shall pass.

  6. Jenn,

    Wow, this must feel lousy. Sorry that it has to happen now before the big feature goes to press. You are a hard worker, and I hope you enjoy a short break before jumping back in as a wordsmith for some fortunate employer.

    Sounds like you could use a massage, shopping, and a glass of wine — hope to see you at WNO! 🙂

  7. I just wanted to chime in and send my sympathies. And my anger too….I’ll never even consider reading that stinkin paper again!! How dare they do that to my favorite blogger! Boycott…Boycott…boycott…BOYCOTT!

  8. Jenn,
    Keep your chin up. You have a gift with words and you’ll find a way to make that work for you. You are not alone.

    Keep the faith.

  9. Jenn, I just heard your news (and also just accepted you as a contact on LinkedIn). I’m so very sorry. Times are tough all around.

    Did the paper offer you a decent severance package? Remember that severance is often negotiable, depending on the circumstances (and by that, I mean how afraid the employer is of getting sued). 🙂 If you haven’t signed anything, don’t sign just yet — run it by your lawyer (or even a lawyer friend/neighbor) first.

    We haven’t had a hiring freeze at work, but I guess you could call it a hiring “slowdown.” Still, it looks like we have an opening for a Copy Editor (we publish the New England Journal of Medicine)… it’s a lower level than I think you’re ultimately looking for, but just might be worth sending in your resume… check it out… hope this link works:
    http://cytiva.com/cejobs/cojobsMMS.asp

    Let me know how or if I can help at all……… I’m going to try to go to the Women’s Night Out event tonight… if I do, I’ll look for you………..m

Leave a Reply

