Weather woes: Stay inside

An update from my neighborhood Yahoo group basically boils down to this: stay home unless you absolutely have to go somewhere.

I want to let everyone know that I just went downtown and I went through a few flood areas on the main road including the intersection by Perrault’s nursery. It was also flooded down by the St. Philips cemetery. Half the downtown is without power and Stop and Shop is putting away all the refrigerated foods and drinks. Do not go over the mountain up on N. Brigham. There are trees down everywhere in the road and it was impassable about 30 minutes ago. It actually looks like it is starting to ice up in the lower lying areas. Be very careful if you have to go out.

Another neighbor reports a water main break across from the main post office.

It’s definitely days like this when I’m glad I don’t have to call up my boss and beg for the day off because someone has to take care of the kids!

6 thoughts on “Weather woes: Stay inside

  1. All I really want to know is whether Dunkin’ Donuts is in the half of downtown *with* power. (My name is Keith and I am an addict.)

  2. The power just came on at Stop & Shop. I was just there, no cold items out, but the store is open for everything else. Dunkin Donuts appeared to be open when I drove by for you java addicts!

  3. Just an FYI: The ice is starting to melt off the trees and as a result there are “mini,” ice storms within a 45 foot radius of any large trees.

    Be careful out there.

Leave a Reply

