14 thoughts on “Who will the 1,000th commenter be?

  1. Let’s start a conversation re: PAYT & how much we’re probably going to get gouged.

    From the sounds of the TA last nite at the BOS meeting, it’s a green light.

    But the devil is in the details. Will he & the BOS grab as much as they can or are they simply looking to cover the costs of our trash contact?

    My money is on them sticking it to the taxpayer for as much as they can stick it to us for!!!!!

    Will this have to go to Town Meeting? I hope so, I think the residents deserve a say in this.

    Look for an annual trash fee & then on top of that, a bag fee for every bag you put out. Wouldn’t it be nice to get one bag of trash included in what we are already paying.

    Seems a bit disingenuis to be making a huge “profit” off this new fee hike. Last yr a bus fee, this yr a trash fee! What next??

    I hear the teachers’ contract is close. I’m hoping they increased there insurance premiums. Isn’t healthcare the big nut in this town budget?? We all bear the cost of higher & higher premiums in the Dreaded Private Sector. Why is it any different for public sector?

    What is the town spending on health ins premiums every year?

    Still no word on state GIC rates vs town rates.

  2. Thanks for the challenge Jenn. I’ll do my best to accomodate. And, although it is another snow day today, I won’t have a lot of time to blog…I have a deadline to meet by Friday (You know what that’s like)

    I know my usual quips don’t provide a lot of insight into some of the local issues that you post about (Although that mention of the need for an Information Technology Committee member kind of piqued my interest). I like doing this for fun…an occasional distraction from writing code. And, I thank you for providing me with this new venue.

    But, I figure every blog needs an Internet Cowboy, so…I’m here for you. Thanks for callin’ me out. In the words of the great John McClane…”Yippee Ki-Yay…” (You know the rest) πŸ™‚

  3. Any chance that some one could decifer the above mentioned acrynoms?

    I figured out PAYT…pay as you throw… but I am at a loss for TA , BOS , and GIC rates?

    Thanks

  4. TA = Town Administrator

    BOS = Board of Selectmen

    GIC = This is the State of Massachusett’s Group Insurance Commission. It allows municipalities to join their health ins program & potentially save them money. You can look at their website http://www.mass.gov/gic/

  5. That alphabet soup is one of my native tongues due to years of excessive note-taking; it took me a minute to realize not everyone reads them as “town administrator, board of selectmen and Group Insurance Commission.” πŸ™‚

  6. $900k = the annual cost of collecting and disposing of trash and recyclables.
    Significant = our anticipated budget shortfall.
    Flat = Real estate property tax revenue.
    Increasing = all costs.
    Decreasing = local aid.

    There are simply no more luxuries – and yes, as odd as it seems, zero-fee municipal trash collection is now considered a luxury. PAYT is a logical, practical, and legitimate way of COVERING the costs associated with providing a necessary service. In fact, the building department just went through a similar analysis and raised inspection fees so that the department is now self-funding. In a flat economy, with a cap on tax revenue, growing population, and level demand for services…there is simply no where else to go.

    For what it’s worth, the recycling committee could always use some help, insight and perspective as they work with the State to develop and roll-out the program for the community to digest. Yet another opportunity to step up! Go to the town website and follow the committee links and you can get in touch with the Committee chair, Doreen DiFazio.

  7. I’m still not convinced that there is a “Jen” nor an individual that runs “Greater Grafton.” I’ve heard rumors this whole blog is being run out of Charlie Bollack’s suite/office at the Grafton News. They have some pretty sweet computers in there with big screens. And the person you guys came in contact with & saw on the tube is just some BU journalism intern being paid big bucks to make it seem legit. Its a very clever operation.

Leave a Reply

