9 thoughts on “Playing with design

  1. I can tell you how I’ve tweaked it:

    The design, obviously, is a bit different. I’m using a newly offered theme that allows me to change hyperlink colors (they’re now Grafton green, changed from red on the theme design) and the border colors (ditto, changed to a shade of green). I could change the background color, but I’m opting to leave it white for now.

    What I don’t like and can’t change: the calendar is now narrow and tiny and it’s hard when it’s that small to tell which dates have posts. The type in “recent comments” is also ridiculously small. I apparently can’t change that, but I’m not the only blogger complaining about it.

    I’d also prefer to have borders around the different sections in the sidebar widgets, but I’m not sure if that’s going to be an option.

    I do like that it identifies who wrote the post, even though it’s rather rare that someone besides me posts.

  2. Nice to see you putting those newly-acquired HTML skills into practice — it looks great! One suggestion – can you make the header image a link back to the home page? I tend to click on the header to get home, but that may just be me.

    Odd about the calendar width. Wonder what that’s all about?

  3. That’s weird, because I do the same thing. It doesn’t look like this one allows me to go home by clicking on the header. I think I know what the issue is, but that’ll mean putting in a new header. I’ll have to mess around with that tomorrow!

  4. Yes, I know exactly what the problem is and that definitely means a header change tomorrow! Ugh — I thought I’d be able to get around that.

    Also, I’m not happy with the fact that you can’t see when an item/comment is posted, but that’s a problem with the actual design that can’t be fixed.

    At least dealing with a new theme now will show me what I need for when I do go to self-hosting…

  5. I like the font size when you’re submitting a comment. It looks the same as when it is posted. The old font was huge.

  6. I like the new theme. Just don’t forget that it will be time to put a more Spring-like banner atop the blog soon. In fact, maybe warmer temps will follow if you put up a Spring pict of the gazebo?

  7. I’ll tell you the same thing I told Michael yesterday — I can’t put up a spring Common banner until I have a spring Common picture! My only other Common banner is most definitely fall. In other words, I need… spring…

  8. You could have people submit spring shots of Grafton while we are waiting for the snow to melt and the trees to bud.

Leave a Reply

