PAYT at TM?

Am I ever going to get tired of the alphabet soup that is a pay as you throw headline? Probably not.

I’m told there’s a petition going around to put PAYT on the warrant for the May Town Meeting. I don’t know the actual wording or if it’s binding or non-binding; I have a call into Tim McInerney.

This throws a bit of a wrench into the works. The town budget is kind of built on having this thing. I imagine if it’s binding and it passes, we’re going to have a long night hacking money out of various departments. Possibly Tim or the Finance Committee may have to have a back-up budget plan in place (God, who wants to do TWO budgets?).

In any case, there’s a meeting on PAYT tonight at 7 p.m. in the Municipal Center’s Conference Room B. I may end up dragging my daughter there after all if I don’t hear from Tim — and yes, that’s not an idle threat!

Plus: Handy link to all the town’s information about PAYT!

Leave a Reply

