And Town Meeting is underway!

7:09 pm we’re crusing through special town meeting … Article 8 already! People are still filing on for the main meeting.

7:12 people keep waving bingo cards at me. I’m between the tall Chris and tall Michael

7:13 apecial TM adjourned!

Back at 7:30….

9 pm I’ll fill more in tomorrow but I’d like to point out PAYT just passed 146-158 very contentious and a big crowd just left. Please note: the budget hasn’t even been debated yet. One issue voters!

9:01 The reading of the budget. I always feel sorry for the readers — quite the list,

10 thoughts on “And Town Meeting is underway!

  1. Jenn, thanks so much for live blogging for those of us who can’t attend TM in person… πŸ™‚

    ~m

  2. I’m still waiting fir Jenn to pull that move from the kevin vuler function. I have my camera ready!

  3. We ended up watching a couple of hours of TM live via the local access channel last night… there were moments where it seemed that driving nails under our skin would have been preferable.

    Mercifully, we lost our cable service just before 11:00 (thanks to a system-wide outage).

    πŸ™‚

  4. I know we’ve done things a certain way for 100 years, but does anybody think there is a way to make TM finish at a reasonable time? I walked out of there at 12:30!!! Seriously at 12 am are we making decisions in a thoughtful way, or just so we can get home.

  5. Wow… I wasn’t sure what time the meeting had officially ended… that’s LATE! Kudos to you and to everyone who attended last night! πŸ™‚

  6. Michael actually was gone at 11:30, according to my notes. πŸ™‚ We adjourned at 12:12 a.m.

    There has got to be a better way of changing complicated zoning bylaws. I have no beef with the budget debate but those giant hunks of legalese should not be decided by a tired crowd on a spring Monday. At least the Powerpoint was somewhat brief this year.

    I’ll start up with the recapping a little later today.

  7. See, I was so tired I probably could have voted to wipe out the entire sanitation line item!

  8. The way to change complicated bylaws is in committee meetings – which is where it is done. If people are interested and/or have strong feelings about the subject matter they can and should participate in that conversation. Charter requires by-law approval at TM.

Leave a Reply

