Under the lights

What’s that you say? I’ve been shockingly remiss in posting photos of Grafton’s Little League fields this season?

IMG_1830

You’re right. I’ve totally been neglecting my Little League duties.

IMG_1832

What’s WRONG with me?

Oh. Right. I did kind of get a job that involves spending a great deal of quality time with the Greater Grafton camera taking pictures around town. I do end up ducking out part way through The Kid’s games to cover things like Selectmen and prom night.

IMG_1833

So today, I give you scenes from Friday night’s double-header at Ferry Street field. That’s our coach, telling kids where they’re going to play next inning using the handy visual aid in the dugout.

IMG_1836

This year, I’m happy to report that one of The Kid’s best friends is once again on the same team. My happiness is two-fold. One, I like his parents and hate to sit on opposite sides of the field when our kids happen to be playing against each other, and two…

IMG_1837

… he’s really turned into a power hitter this year and I just don’t have it in me to root against him.

IMG_1859

I mean, could you? I think not.

IMG_1838

I wasn’t taking notes — I had a night off, for crying out loud — but I believe this was a Grand Slam and the kids just piled on after the batter hit home.

IMG_1839

Possibly this was a group hug. They’d probably prefer that I call it something more manly, though.

IMG_1841

I love dugout pictures. They are always trying to out-cool each other at the fence.

IMG_1844

My discovery this night — for some reason, I never thought of the stairs on the side of the concession stand as a potential vantage point for pictures. Maybe it’s the knowledge that, at any given point, my innate klutziness will take over and send me headlong off the side.

IMG_1847

But you can’t argue with the fact it’s a great vantage point. We’re totally winning here, by the way.

IMG_1848

So how is the kid doing this season? Well, he’s in the majors and it’s his first time. He was a little intimidated, but this was the game he finally decided to step out and bring it on.

IMG_1853

As did the rest of the team — that first game was a bit of a blow-out.

IMG_1854

Bases are loaded here, if you couldn’t tell by the body language.

IMG_1855

Looks like the pep talk worked! Actually, my son thinks this might have been a ball that brought the guy on third home to score.

IMG_1856

I’m happy to note that so far this season, parents appear to have behaved so the backstop isn’t covered by a tarp to avoid back-talk.

IMG_1858

Thank GOD his mother didn’t see this one. The ball almost took his head off!

IMG_1860

And again, the photographer’s dilemma: chain-link fence, artsy or annoying?

IMG_1861

Coach: You played a great game. Hope you saved something for the next game. I’m going to let you eat between games but I don’t want any barfing on home plate or I’m going to starve you next time.

Or something like that.

IMG_1862

“Good game. Good game. Good game. Man, I’m starving. Good game. Good game.”

IMG_1864

FOOD!

IMG_1863

Between games report: graffiti has not changed much since I was in high school. The high schoolers of today don’t seem to write “Kill Pigs,” though, which can only be a good thing. That was a staple at good ol’ BHS.

IMG_1866

And now, your moment of cute!

IMG_1869

Sunset!

IMG_1870

At this point I noticed the announcer’s box was open so I snuck inside. Nice view.

IMG_1873

Here is also where my camera started telling me the batteries were dying. I started scrambling to shoot as much as I could before things faded to black because, for once, I wasn’t carrying back-ups.

IMG_1876

Batteries are dying!

IMG_1878

Quick, grab a picture of the catcher in his awesome all-red gear!

IMG_1879

Run to get a photo of the field as the sky goes dark!

IMG_1882

Oooh, pretty sky! And fade to black.

IMG_1831

Great games, kiddo.

3 thoughts on “Under the lights

  1. Last week, we were at Ferry. My daughter’s 7 yr old friend started reading all the flowery expressions on the bleachers. OH DEAR!!! He didn’t grasp the full meaning of what he was saying. They really ought to paint over those seats!

  2. Little League game late night to end the weekend, can’t get better than that! Sad to see the damage to cars in Grafton from the hail.

  3. None sadder than my husband. We only got the RAV-4 on Thursday! Luckily, you can’t really see the dents unless you’re looking closely.

    We were surprised to have damage to our camper — luckily we haven’t gotten around to popping it up yet or it would have been worse. More things to fix!

Leave a Reply

