Oink oink oink

My middle schooler had his last day of school Monday. That’s right — we’re the latest family to be hit with (whispers) swine flu.

At least, that’s how I’m treating it. He ran a fever Tuesday and is continuing to cough up a storm. He had to miss the Rutfield Insurance vs. Grafton Pop Warner Little League final, and we’re humoring his declarations that if only he had been allowed to play, Rutfield would not have been so completely trounced.

I’m just hoping my third grader doesn’t get in on this fad. A good swath of the neighborhood kids are apparently infected with it. Luckily, school ends Friday and they have a couple weeks before the start of camp — with any luck, H1N1 will be down for the season by the time they start mixing with other kids again.

There have been perks for him. He’s spent the last two days watching the Military Channel to his heart’s content and I exposed him to “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” for the first time. It’s one of those geeky parent-child bonding moments. I wonder if I’d be pressing my luck if I attempted a “Star Trek: The Next Generation” marathon tomorrow so he can finally understand the origins of our late dog’s name?

8 thoughts on “Oink oink oink

  1. Riker. We had thought of Worf, but my friend had already named his cat that.

    Riker turned out to be fitting. He never did follow commands. I miss my Number One. 😦

  2. Riker is an awesome name for a dog! I had a friend in HS who had a shitzu named Jean-Luc Picard, but we always called him Lukie because he was such a wuss. And when I was in college, I adopted a stray kitten who I immediately named Wesley.

    (I had a huge crush on Wesley Crusher, yes I did. But Riker was always a close second for me. It felt sort of dirty since he was old enough to be my dad…)

  3. I’d offer up the TOS. My kids get a kick out of the colors and costumes.

    ‘Lost in Space’ is another good choice.

    I have also introduced them them to the original ‘Speed Racer.’ They now know ‘Mammoth Car’, ‘Motorcycle Apaches,’ and the ‘GRX’ (- one has to take a drug to drive the GRX because it is soooo fast.)

    If the kid loves ‘The Military Channel,’ There is ‘Combat’ with Vic Morrow and ’12 O’clock High’ – a QM Production on American Life TV .
    I love my DVR!

  4. I would have gone with the Monty Python theme myself…How about Zoot? Naughty, naughty Zoot.

  5. Ohhh. Here’s where I have to confess: I’m in a mixed marriage.

    I love Monty Python.
    My husband loves the Three Stooges.

    I don’t know if he’s even ever seen “Holy Grail.” He did take me to “Spamalot” last year, and laughed, so there’s hope.

    So no, Monty Python names weren’t on the table when it came to naming Riker. We were pretty committed to naming him for a ST:TNG character anyway.

    Sorry Kirk, we don’t own TOS, just TNG. I’ve never felt the need to own the originals. I did interview James Doohan once, though. He REALLY didn’t like William Shatner.

Leave a Reply

