6 thoughts on “This beats a Monday night School Committee meeting

  1. A journalist with no regard for copyright (video recording) laws? Kenny Chesney had something to say about this at that same venue about a month ago. While I realize this is not technically the Grafton Times.com site, but it is very closely associated. Please reconsider posting performance video without proper clearances.

  2. If you take a good look at the channel on YouTube, you will see that it is linked to the official site for this tour. U2 is one of several groups that realize that controlling bootlegging is next to impossible when everyone has a video camera in their pocket, so they’ve set up an official place for fans to share what they have.

    Another highlight of last night’s show: my husband’s cousin volunteered for Amnesty International and ended up on stage during one of the songs! It’s not, however, on YouTube yet.

  3. Sounds cool, hip and groovy, although I’m getting my info from the U2 website:

    “Proprietary Rights
    You agree that all content and materials available on the Site are protected by rights of publicity, copyright, trademarks, service marks, patents, trade secrets or other proprietary rights and laws. Unless expressly authorized by us, you agree not to sell, license, rent, modify, distribute, copy, reproduce, transmit, publicly display, publicly perform, publish, adapt, edit or create derivative works from materials or content available on the Site. Notwithstanding the above, you may use the content and materials on the Site in the course of your normal, personal, non-commercial use of the Site.

    I’m thinking the sale of advertising space isn’t ‘non-commercial’ – Still, a good concert.

  4. There’s no advertising sold on GreaterGrafton.com. It’s completely separate from GraftonTimes.com — always has been. I do use it to link to stories I may have written there, but I did that back when I was writing for the MetroWest Daily News as well.

  5. Why is Wally trying to kill your Bono Buzz?

    Wasn’t the show great? I think the funky version of I Know I’ll Go Crazy … with Larry and his portable drum was a huge highlight. Desmond Tutu’s video was also very fun and I was quite impressed that Bono kept his leather jacket on all night (I was there Sunday).

    Getting home definitely not a highlight. I pulled into Grafton around 1:40 Monday AM. Yesterday the adrenaline got me through. Today I’m paying.

  6. I loved Larry and his portable drum. I had just been feeling sorry for Larry, and drummers in general, who usually have the exact same view of the stage and crowd all night while the singers and guitarists get to go out on the catwalks (and those cool bridges!) and have their Rock God moments, and then he broke out the bongo.

    And it was impressive that all that sound was coming from just four guys on stage, without additional musicians shipped in for the tour. And amazing that Bono’s voice was in such fine form. I think last night just topped my prior top concert (Pink Floyd at the Meadowlands in the fall of 1987).

    I really miss real lighters at concerts, though. The cell phone screens, even my iPhone app with the Zippo lighter, just didn’t have the same effect as the entire stadium lit up with tiny pinpoints of flame.

Leave a Reply

