Got plans for Jan. 25? Let’s get snowed in at Town Meeting!

Want to take a look at what the new Grafton High School will look like?

There are other drawings, and a site layout, and a story about what’s coming up next for the proposed school over at the subscription-free GraftonTimes.com.

The most interesting bit of information for me tonight (technically last night, but I still haven’t gone to bed yet) was a date: Jan. 25. That’s the possible date for the Town Meeting that is the first step toward making this building a reality. Then we’d have a follow-up ballot vote, which would be around Feb. 15. Tim made a comment about the potential for a second ballot vote if it doesn’t pass the first time around and… ack, don’t even want to think about it!

Of course, my dad could tell you chapter and verse about school building votes gone horribly wrong. I was supposed to attend “Bellingham Middle School,” a building that was actually approved but then was overturned by, if I remember correctly, a last-minute amendment at Town Meeting. I’m a little vague on the specifics, outside of the outstanding artwork I created for Bellingham’s SOS (Save Our School) campaign.

For the record, can we please not use “SOS” in whatever campaign ends up getting launched for a new high school? Merci!

3 thoughts on “Got plans for Jan. 25? Let’s get snowed in at Town Meeting!

  1. Two questions…
    1. What the heck is a Charrette? (as in the Green Building “Charrette” that is happening tonight at GHS).
    2. When does it wrap up tonight? I know it starts at 6 at the high school, but I’m not sure about when it closes….

  2. Heh, I asked the same question when the notice was sent to me last week and the response I got was something like “damned if I know, but that’s what they call it.” It’s “a final, intensive effort to finish a project, especially an architectural design project.”

    Also, the notice I received, and the meeting posting at the Municipal Center, has it in the cafeteria at GHS, but Mary Ann (rocking an adorable new haircut, btw) thought it might have been moved to the Municipal Center to be broadcast live. I’m shooting Rich an email now to get that clarified.

  3. char⋅rette  /ʃəˈrɛt/ Spelled Pronunciation [shuh-ret]

    –noun

    a final, intensive effort to finish a project, esp. an architectural design project, before a deadline.

Leave a Reply

