How to ruin a perfectly good honors student

I would like to point out that the bit of nepotism on display today on TheDailyGrafton.com is not, in fact, a mother pushing her son into journalism. It is not an editor desperate for sports copy, either.

My family has a disease. Into every generation, a writer is born. My son has apparently inherited this gene.

I will say, handing my son his first reporter’s notebook, on his request, and instructing him on interviewing techniques was a rather proud moment.

I don’t see myself encouraging journalism as a career for him, however. He has an A in Pre-Algebra! I can’t make a writer out of him!

Leave a Reply

