Candidate announcement: Bruce Spinney for Grafton Selectman

SpinneyGreater Grafton welcomes candidate announcements and letters of support. Email greatergrafton@gmail.com.

Dear neighbors and friends,

Today I announce my candidacy for Grafton Selectman and begin by asking for your vote on May 21st.

I have been a Grafton resident for over ten years, having grown up in nearby Sutton.  In that time, I have been privileged  to serve this community in many capacities.  I was proud to be elected Chairman of the Planning Board several years ago, and have also served on the Community Preservation Committee, Capital Improvement Planning Committee, Economic Development Committee , Streetscape Committee, and the GEA Scholarship Committee.  Most recently, I was appointed to the Finance Committee.  My family and I also enjoy taking part in incredible Grafton non-profits such as Apple Tree Arts, the Grafton Land Trust, and Friends of the Grafton Public Library.

Through my broad range of experience, I have acquired a deep working knowledge of the functions of our local government, an appreciation for the responsibilities to the people it serves, and an understanding of the unique challenges Grafton faces.  By listening to School Committee members, our public employees and town residents like you, as well as Boards in surrounding  towns, I have learned what works in local government—and what doesn’t.  I have applied my well-rounded background—from my position as a Sergeant in the United States Marine Corps to my time spent managing a busy family as a stay-at-home dad—to bring a fresh perspective to the Boards on which I have served.  I will do the same as your Selectman.

I seek to serve as your Selectman out of a simple desire to make Grafton an even more wonderful place to live.  While Grafton has so much to offer, I also see a lot of potential in this Town, and I believe I can help Grafton live up to that potential.

As Selectman, I will foster transparency, and I will be a strong advocate for decisions that are in the best interest of Grafton.  I will always approach fiscal responsibility with intelligence and discipline.  I will work to foster a rich, creative and innovative environment for our town government.  I will apply my passion and dedication to help create a plan for Grafton that leads us soundly into the future while honoring where we have been.

But I cannot do any of this, Grafton, without your vote.  Please honor me with your vote on May 21st.

Bruce Spinney

http://www.spinneyforselectman.com
https://www.facebook.com/SpinneyforSelectman

Leave a Reply

