Kay Whynot is outed, leaves Grafton News

KayWhynotThe news reached me all the way in Lowell: Kay Whynot has hung up his typewriter.

The news was buried inside the Grafton News yesterday, hanging out under the logo where his “hey, get offa my lawn” screeds normally sit. It was enough to make me dust off this blast from the past for a chuckle while Graftonites on Facebook speculated on just why Tony Kavanaugh will no longer be the little slice of nasty inside Grafton’s generally perky little weekly.

When I got home, I had a copy of my very own Grafton News to check out for myself. And, knowing I was going to reference the start of the Greater Grafton/Kay Whynot romance today, I figured I’d also talk about the changes to the newspaper.

First of all, I adore Don Clark. We’ve had a very friendly rivalry over the past five years, making sure not to get in each other’s shots. Don isn’t stupid. He knows there’s a void left by the collapse of the Daily Voice and he needs to grab that audience before the next shiny object comes to town.

The layout is much improved, he’s hired some reporters and there are even color spots (Don, that double-truck with the Little League pictures could have been paid for if you charged for CMYK ads there). It looks lively.

The big issue? The website. It looks a heck of a lot better but at some point, it’s just gotta have more news on it. I was glad to see that got the Grafton & Upton train track fire up quickly (that happened as I was leaving for work Wednesday), but I want more. Yes, I could just buy the paper on Thursday. But I want to know about Monday’s School Committee meeting on Tuesday, Tuesday’s Board of Selectmen meeting on Wednesday and I don’t want to have to wait until next week to find out what happened on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I’m a demanding member of an entitled generation that wants news now, dammit.

About that… we’ll discuss that more next week.

4 thoughts on “Kay Whynot is outed, leaves Grafton News

  1. I was annoyed to see that not all the photos from the issue are on the photo gallery. I can’t share with friends and family the ones that my children (and my ass) are in. 😦

  2. That’s great news. I’d have to say he was the single biggest reason I stopped subscribing to the Grafton News. Reading your local paper shouldn’t make you angry every time you pick it up.

Leave a Reply

