Grafton votes for Selectmen today

Spinney

It’s Election Day!

Don’t forget to turn out and vote in today’s Grafton town election. Polls are open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., with Precincts 1,2, and 3 at Grafton Middle School and Precinct 4 and 5 at Millbury Street Elementary School.

DauphinaisIt’s been a weird election season for me, since I was essentially pulled out of it by the closure of the Daily Voice and my quick jump in and out of the unemployment pool. The Voice closed before we could really get into the campaigns and I never got around to interviewing all the candidates for Greater Grafton before I started at the Lowell Sun. And The Grafton Villager, of course, only officially launched last week, so the voters are basically making their decisions based on lawn signs, letters to the editor, the possibility they caught the debate on GCTV and who they know.

Heck, I’m basing my vote on who I know. Normally, I make my decision when I actually have ballot in hand. Frankly, a lot of the time it boils down to “who had the supporters who pissed me off the most when I had to approve comments?” and “who was the most high-maintenance of the candidates?” and then I vote against them. That wasn’t the case this year, having finally separated the town in which I live from the town I cover.

On the ballot for the Board of Selectmen, the only contested race:

  • Bruce Spinney, formerly of the Grafton Planning Board, now of the Finance Committee and a number of other boards. This marks his third shot at the Board of Selectmen and, frankly, I thought he should have gotten it his first time out. He had every excuse not to run this time. I think it speaks well of him that he was persistent enough to continue.
  • Craig Dauphinais, formerly of the Board of Selectmen, seeking a return. That’s not Craig in that picture above, by the way. That’s Brook Padgett. Craig was celebrating his daughter’s graduation from the University of New Hampshire.
  • Robert Nault, now on the Zoning Board of Appeals. He will forever be the lead story on the last day of the Grafton Daily Voice.
  • Dennis Flynn, a former superintendent of schools and an opponent of the Grafton & Upton Railroad.

I will be in Lowell when the polls close but I’m hoping for some texts once the results are in. Otherwise, I’ll be hitting “refresh” on The Grafton Villager starting at 8 p.m., and I hope you will as well. Sorry I’m not going to be able to get the Millbury Street numbers for you this time, Rich!

Leave a Reply

